Banana and Greek Yogurt Sweet Bread

Ever since I can remember my mum has been making banana bread for us, we would always gobble up a few slices of it after school and the smell of it still drives my taste buds a bit loopy!! I’m home in lovely Sligo for a couple of days and last night myself and mum put our thinking caps on and after several ideas I decided this recipe was my favourite, I basically just looked at what we had in the fridge and put a few things together. I’ve used a basic Madeira cake recipe for guaranteed sweetness.

 

100g Castor Sugar

100g unsalted butter

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

150g Plain Flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Pinch of salt

2 very ripe bananas

2 dessert spoons of Greek yogurt

Handful of sliced almonds

 

Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius and grease a cake tin ( I used a bread loaf tin)

Cream the butter and sugar until smooth

Add in the egg a little at a time, stir after each addition to avoid curdling, add a little flour if curdling happens

Add in the vanilla essence

Sieve in flour, salt and baking powder

Mix it all together until smooth, no lumps!

Squash the 2 bananas with a fork and add into the mixing bowl, add 2 dessert spoons of grrek yogurt and some sliced almonds

Mix it all up together and add to the greased cake tin

Place in centre of the oven at 180 degrees for 40-45 minutes

Avoid opening the oven as it will prevent the cake from rising

Put the kettle on and enjoy!!

8 thoughts on “Banana and Greek Yogurt Sweet Bread

  1. Hi Hi Carolanne!
    I just popped a batch in the oven 🙂 I had to make a few small changes – you forgot to mention when to add the vanilla essence but in the end it didn’t make a difference – I have no vanilla essence so I used a little vanilla sugar instead of caster sugar ! Also, I used butter instead of margarine so I hope that’ll be ok! It smells delicious either way and can’t wait!
    a x

  2. This sounds like a great way to dress up banana bread. There isn’t much that good yoghurt can’t enhance actually 🙂

Leave a Reply

