Sweet potato, carrot and coriander soup

And here is the recipe for the sweet potato, carrot and coriander soup.

This recipe came to me over gobbling up my lunch in Gruel. The best ideas usually come to me when my mouth is full and thinking about the next meal.

All of the vegetables used in this soup are fresh, organic produce from the Temple Bar Farmers’ Market.

What you’ll need:

1 large onion

2 cloves garlic

6 large carrots

2 sweet potatoes

A big fresh bunch of coriander

1 stock cube(I use Kallo organic)

Olive oil

  1. Heat the olive in a deep wide based saucepan.
  2. Dice the onion and garlic and add to the oil. Sweat for 5 minutes.

Tear the coriander apart and sprinkle over the onions, stir.

Chop the sweet potato and add to the onions and coriander mix.
Stir everything to make sure it’s well mixed up together.

Chop the carrots and add in to the sauce pan.

Make up 1 litre of vegetable stock, using hot water and the stock cube
Stir in the stock and give it all a good mix up.
Allow to simmer for 10/15 minutes.

When the veg has softened you can get your blender out and give it a whizz, or wait for a day like we had to and when we finally got to eat it, it was tastier than I had expected. The veg had more time to absorb all of the flavours and was truly delightful.

I don’t have a piccie of the finished product as I was too hungry to take one when I eventually got round to blending it 😉 But I can tell you it was yummy and nourishing!

3 thoughts on “Sweet potato, carrot and coriander soup

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review « Carolanne's Kitchen

  2. Hello my lovely, so I’ve now made your soup twice and I love it, very rustic and full of taste. I added minced garlic (I pop some in most things) and a small pinch of ground coriander…delish… Keep up the good cooking :o)

Leave a Reply

