Pumpkin Pie Time

I will admit I have never cooked with a pumpkin before and well, there’s no better time than on Hallow’s Eve I guess!!!

On the morning of hallowe’en I sent an emergency text looking for the ingredients for the pie and so the minute work was finished I toddled off to the shops to fill my basket with goodies. I had no idea how to approach the pumpkin so I figured just get the ingredients and let the magic happen.

I picked up two quirky looking pumpkins, small and not so intimidating as the enormous ones I grew up seeing being carved into Jack O’ Lanterns.

Here’s what I picked up for the pie:

An 8 inch pumpkin….bright and cute looking

1 can evaporated milk

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon all spice

2 teaspoons cinnamon

3 eggs

200g castor sugar

1 roll of short crust pastry( I was too lazy to make it from scratch :P)

Topping

Handful of crushed pecan nuts

half cup of unsalted butter

half cup of  brown sugar

I started by cutting the pumpkin halfways from the stem to the bottom and scooped out all of the seeds.

Roast the pumpkin halves in the oven at 220 degrees celcius for 45 minutes or until soft and ready to be easily scooped out of the shell.

When the pumpkin is ready to be taken out of the oven, scoop it out of the shell, it should come away easily.

 

 

Blend the pumpkin using a handheld blender and then sieve the puree to remove any excess liquid.

 

With the puree in a bowl, add in the sugar, cinnamon, all spice and ground ginger. Mix well.

 

Grease a baking tray with butter and in the already preheated oven, blind bake your pastry for 15 minutes at 180 degrees.

In the mixing bowl add in the 3 eggs

 

Then pour in the can of evaporated milk

 

Whisk all of the ingredients well and ensure it’s even.

Take the pastry shell out of the oven and set aside. Leave to cool for a few minutes.

Pour the pumpkin mixture into the pastry shell and place in the centre of the oven.

 

Bake at 220 degrees for 15 minutes and then reduce to 170 degrees for 30 minutes.

In the meantime, heat a pan and add in  the crushed pecans, brown sugar and butter. Allow to caramelise.

10 minutes before the end of baking, take out the pie and smother it with the caramelised pecans.

serve warm and enjoy……

 

One thought on “Pumpkin Pie Time

  1. Glad to see you back on the blog!

    I’ve never had pumpkin pie before and it was an interesting new experience. If there’s one thing I love, it’s the desserts from Carolanne’s kitchen! 😛

Leave a Reply

