Vintage Irish cooking at home

Monday morning and I was up bright and early, out for the walk and planning my afternoon in the kitchen. Before I knew it, my mum had covered the kitchen table in bright and colourful cookery books from all over. The one that caught my eye and which I had the most interest in was my Great Auntie Katie’s Home Economics Book and her exercise book. Dating back to 1939, the Home Ec book is jam packed with old traditional recipes. My mind started racing with what goodies I could whip up from this precious find.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After perusing through the pages of this delicate book, I decided I wanted to whip up something traditional, Irish and a little bit vintage. I searched around the kitchen for ideas and stumbles upon a pot of leftover mashed spuds from last nights dinner and a vague recollection of my dad mentioning I should make potato cakes in the morning.

 

 

So, I pulled out my mixing bowl and here’s a recipe I whipped up for a traditional Irish Boxty:

 

2 cups of leftover mashed potato

1 cup of grated raw potato

1 cup flour

1 cup of milk

1/2 tspn baking powder

1/2 tspn salt

1/2 tspn pepper

Parsley

Garlic

 

 

Place the leftover mashed potato in a mixing bowl.

Grate the raw potato in a separate bowl and squeeze out all of the excess liquid.

Put the raw potato in with the leftover mash.

Add the flour, salt, pepper, baking powder into the potato mixture.

 

 

Slowly pour in the milk and stir to combine.

Make sure that an even batter is formed.

 

Heat a pan with olive oil and butter.

Spoon in the batter to the hot pan and fry for 3-4 minutes on either side.

 

 

Serve with some grilled back rashers and a steaming hot cuppa chá

 

 

Perfect vintage Irish food.

 

Although after making the Boxty, there was a major Boxty debate with my dad. He suggested that they should be baked in the oven first and then served up. I later found a recipe for this and will try it at a later date. It appears what I made was more of a potato cake.

 

4 thoughts on “Vintage Irish cooking at home

  1. Pingback: Paddys Day Food Parade | Carolanne's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

