Steak and Guinness Pie

Qatar Irish Society hold an annual Irish Ball and this years ball is to take place on St. Patricks Day. The Irish Society’s committee approached me and asked me if I would be interested in submitting a few of my recipes for the Irish Society’s programme. I was only delighted to be able to showoff a few of my creations.

So, as I am at home in the bosom of my family, I thought no better time than to get my collection of recipes together with my perfectly willing guinea pigs.

Last night’s dinner was a scrumptious Steak and Guinness Pie served with a couple of roosters and washed down with a 2007 Nottage Hill Cabernet Shiraz. It was a feast but be prepared to wait a couple of hours for your dinner as it takes time and with this time, you will certainly appreciate the traditional flavours and aromas that fill your kitchen and have your senses going crazy!

 

 

I did find a recipe for a Beef Steak Pie in my Great Auntie Katie’s Home Ec book. I took the idea from that recipe and added in a few extra bits, such as the guinness and carrots and I used shop bought puff pastry, cheeky, I know :p. I also changed around the method. No major changes but it worked so well together.

 

 

My dad also arrived home with a box laden down with veggies he bought in Lidl. The garlic bulbs caught my eye. They are single bulb garlic and beautifully mild and went perfectly in this pie.

 

 

 

Here is the recipe I used:

1 lb Round beef steak

1 can Guinness

3 carrots

3 onions

1 single bulb garlic

1 tblspn flour

1 tspn fresh thyme

1 tblspn chopped fresh parsley

salt

pepper

olive oil

1 egg, beaten

Beef stock

Roasting pot

Method:

Leave the beef out for an hour before cooking, marinate is in some oil and pepper.

Cut the beef into 1 inch long strips, coat in the flour, salt and pepper.

Heat a wide based pan with the olive oil and fry the beef to seal the flavour.

Put the roasting pot on the stove and heat up with olive oil and bit of butter.

Add in the onions and garlic. Sweat them down and when they are nice and browned add in the carrots and the beef.

 

 

Cook for a few minutes to release more flavours.

Pour in the can of Guinness and about 200ml beef stock.

 

 

Simmer to let the juices reduce for 15 minutes

 

 

Cover and pop in the oven for 90 minutes.

After 90 minutes, take out of the oven and leave to sit for 10 minutes.

While the beef is cooling you can get your pastry ready, I was rather cheeky and used ready made puff pastry (it takes a little of the pressure off)

Grease your dish for the pie and lay down a sheet of puff pastry. Ensuring to cover the base and sides of the dish with pastry.

Cover the pastry with greaseproof paper and cook in the oven for 8 minutes, remove and cool for 5 minutes.

Brush on some beaten egg and cook for another 5 minutes.

Remove the dish and gently spoon in your beef and Guinness mixture. Lightly brush the edges of the crust with some of the beaten egg.

When you have filled the pie crust with the mixture, cover the top with your second sheet of puff pastry. Pressing down the edges with a fork to ensure the two sheets glue together.

Glaze the pastry with more egg and prod it with a fork, without completely piercing the pastry.

Place in an oven preheated at 180°C for 1 hour.

 

Remove from the oven and serve up with some roosters and prepare to gobble!

 

 

Leave a Reply

