Brown Soda Bread


I have been trying to perfect my bread making skills for months now and it wasn’t until I went home a few weeks ago to visit my parents that I got a proper bread making tutorial from my mum and she showed me the tricks of the trade. This is her recipe and it’s really simple to make and tastes rather yummy. I love making bread, it’s such a therapeutic process and is good for the soul.

Here in Doha, buttermilk is not available so I use Laban, which is a popular natural yogurt drink or else I will use milk and lemon juice which have the same effect.

Ingredients

250g wholemeal flour

250g plain flour

1 small tspn bread soda

1 tblspn olive oil

500 ml Buttermilk

Handful of sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, linseed and oats

Heat the oven to 200 °C.

Sieve the wholemeal flour, plain flour and bread soda together in a mixing bowl.

Lift up the flour through your hands to aerate it.

Add in the seeds (optional)

Add in the olive oil and mix.

Pour in the butter milk a little at a time. If you need more just add to it.

You should have a wet batter, but not soggy.

Grease your bread tin and spoon the batter into the tin.

Take a dry knife and make a line through the centre of the bread.

Put the bread in the centre of the oven and reduce the heat to 180 °C.

Bake for 40 minutes or until golden brown.

When the bread sounds hollow, it is done.

Serve up with some bread and jam and enjoy with a hot cuppa!

3 thoughts on “Brown Soda Bread

  1. Hi – I love your photo’s and would appreciate your help as my soda bread never turns out as I want it to. It’s always a bit heavy or soggy even if I cook it for longer. Also when you say bread soda do you mean bicarbonate of soda? In UK we dont get actual Bread soda as they do in Ireland – is it the same thing?

    • Hey Maura,

      Great to hear from you. We have bread soda in Ireland which is the same as bicarbonate of soda, yes. Use only a small amount as you don’t want a chalky taste in your bread. I also use equal amounts of white and brown flour Alternate it with your favourite flours if you wish. Make sure to aerate the dry mixture using your hands before adding in the milk. I hope that was some help to you. Let me know how you get on 🙂 c.a.

  2. Thanks so much for getting back to me so quickly. I think I have been doing everything wrong. Using strong bread flour is my mistake but I also have been following a recipe by Maurice Keller on the goodfoodireland.ie website and he makes it quite sloppy and pours it into tins. So I will follow your excellent advice and hope I can do better. My grandmother/Aunts/Cousins will be ashamed of me if I cant produce a decent soda bread!

Leave a Reply

