Apple Glaze Ice Cream!!!

Apples and ice cream. Never had it, always wanted to try it, loved it!! It was like a creamy mouthful of apple crumble, om nom nom!!

With making ice cream, I’m old school, I don’t have an ice cream maker maker so I just freeze the mixture and it works out just as yummy and really creamy, so long as it’s mixed well! Using double cream is essential in making ice cream if you want a gelato cremoso. Although using low fat creams can be done and tastes the same. My next venture will be tofu or rice ice cream. I love the fact that it’s completely dairy free and tastes just as good and yummy!!

For the apple glaze, I used the syrup I had made when making the hot cross buns. I didn’t want to waste a perfectly sweet and tasty syrup so this idea came to me. I imagined a sweet and creamy cold treat. Definitely needed in these hot days in Doha.

Here is the recipe I used. It is a basic, traditional recipe for ice cream. Which makes it that bit easier to make. The only hard bit is waiting 24 hours to gobble up your treat!

What you need…..

For the Ice cream:

100g Castor Sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

350 ml double cream

1 tspn Vanilla Essence

Glaze:

130 g Sugar

1 lemon

150ml water

2 apples

For the apple glaze, I used the remainder of the syrup I had left over from the hot cross buns:

Start off heating 275 ml of water and 260 g castor sugar in a pan over a medium heat. Add the juice of half the lemon along with the apples. The other half of the lemon can be cut into small cubes and added into the pan.

Simmer on low heat for 20 minutes until apples and lemons are soft and translucent, shake in 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon.

While the syrup is simmering, you can get a start on the ice cream.

Whisk the eggs and sugar in a heat proof bowl over a pot of simmering water.

Add in the vanilla essence.

Whisk the cream until fluffy peaks form.

Pour in the cream to the eggs and sugar mixture and stir until evenly combined.

Add in the syrup and stir again.

Gently stir for about 5 minutes until all over the ingredients have blended into one another.

When I am freezing the mixture, I separate it into two 1 litre containers, sprinkle with a dusting of cinnamon and pop in the freezer.

Freeze for a minimum of 6 hours to overnight.

Leave a Reply

