Purple Velvet

I give you a combination of earthy meets sweet, I give you Purple Velvet.

For weeks, I have been talking about making these little gems. I only recently started using fresh beetroot  in my cooking and thought it would go really well in some baked treats. The colour that comes out of a freshly cooked beetroot is extraordinary, splashes of vibrant purple are scattered over the kitchen counter tops when I get my hand stuck into them.

At the weekend, I picked up a big bunch of fresh, organic beets at the Subiaco Farmer’s Market. They are pretty inexpensive, so grab a bunch if you find some!

Beetroots are teeming with potent anti-oxidants. So, adding them into a cupcake can only be good for your soul. Although, avoid pure beet juice, it can be extremely potent and can temporarily damage your vocal chords although combined with the likes of apple juice can lower blood pressure and aid cardiovascular problems. These magnificent roots never cease to amaze me.

A few days ago, I got so excited about going out to yoga that I fell and twisted my ankle so I had to cease all play-time in the kitchen and on the yoga mat for a few days. The boredom of not being able to do anything got to me. So, I gave up. I hobbled into the kitchen and I chopped the leaves off the beets (keep them, they’re great in a stir fry or salad) and put my beets in a pot of water and boiled them for 40 minutes. When they were done, I left them overnight to completely cool down.

The nice thing about beets when they are cooked is that their skin and roots just slide off them which makes them extremely easy to play with, they can be a little slippery though, careful!

Here is my recipe for these decadent little creatures….

2 cups beets, boiled, peeled and pureéd

2 cups / 300g plain flour

1 1/2 cups /350g dark brown sugar

1 cup / 240g softened butter

115g semi-sweet dark chocolate

2 tblspns cacao powder

2 tspn baking soda

1 tblspn cream

3 eggs

1 tspn vanilla essence

1/2 tspn salt

Place the cooked beetroot into a food processor and blend until a smooth puree forms.

Cream the butter and sugar together in a mixing bowl. Add in the vanilla essence.

Whisk the eggs in a separate bowl and gradually add them to the creamed mixture.

Whisk the mixture until evenly combined.

Melt the chocolate in a saucepan with a tablespoon of cream. Pour the chocolate into the rest of the mixture in the mixing bowl.

Stir to combine.

Add in the pureed beetroot and combine, watch as the purple beetroot unleashes it’s natural dye on the mixture and it turns a beautiful deep magenta.

Add in a couple tablespoons of milk to create a drop like effect.

Spoon the mixture in to a muffin tray lined with bun cases. It should yield about 24 evenly sized cupcakes.

I thought that a maple frosting would go really nice with this. I didn’t get a chance to experiment with that tonight but maybe next week when I can walk again!

Enjoy c.a xx

2 thoughts on “Purple Velvet

Leave a Reply

