Cookie Cakes :)

Cookie Cakes are the way forward. Well, I think so, at least. They’re mini cakes of cookieness. Who could want more. Cookieness is a word, now.

This weekend rain was forecast, big mean clouds kept threatening the sky but low and behold, I woke up bright and early to a gorgeous sunny Spring Saturday, it was off to the market for my usual hit of farm fresh produce. I was ogling all of the goodies at the market but I had to hold out for a special treat that I had planned for later. I had been thinking about these yummy treats for a couple of days now and figuring out what would be the best way to go about assembling them. I found some very cute little cake tins in a bakeware shop in town and thought that the cookie cakes would fit perfectly with them.

Whilst making these cookies, I was jumping up and down with my spatula in one hand and punching the air with the other. I was of course watching the boys in green kick some Aussie Wallaby ass. There was no greater moment than seeing heart throb Tommy Bowe run for his life, nearly getting the length of the pitch, maginificent. The tweets were flying in on twitter, it was amazing to see the coverage our pack were getting. I don’t think I had a prouder moment of being an Irish lass in Oz. From my balcony, I could hear roars and euphoric screams as the Irish unleashed that sigh of relief when the whistle was blown…and the cookies were done. Good timing if I do say so.

So with the makings of cookie cakes in one hand and the very cute mini cake tins in the other, I got to work and here is what I made earlier…

And this is how you can make them….

The makings of cookie cakes are:

200g butter, softened

200g brown sugar

1 egg

2 tspns vanilla essence

150g plain flour

50g cacao powder

1/2 tspn salt

1 tspn baking powder

1 cup white choco chips

1/2 cup madadamia nuts, chopped

Method

Preheat oven to 180 degrees.

Grease 8 mini cake tins

Cream the butter and sugar together.

Whisk in the egg and vanilla essence.

Sift in the flour, baking powder and cocoa, stir to combine.

Add in salt, choco chips and nuts.

Mix to combine.

*note* The mixture may not resemble the same texture as other cookie recipes, this one is a little more cakey and a lot more yummy 🙂

Fill the mini cake tins with the mixture.

Pop on a baking tray and bake for about 15 mins.

Depending on your oven, check on the cookies at 12 mins to make sure they’re not burning. You wouldn’t want that now!

Leave to cool in the tins for 5 mins, tip out and cool out on a wire rack.

Dust with icing sugar and serve with a dollop of ice cream and a glass of milk. Devour.

Devouring is the only thing possible when you see these treats of cakey cookie yummyness!

Cookie Cakes. The stuff of legends.

c.a. xx

7 thoughts on “Cookie Cakes :)

  1. Pingback: Cookie Cakes, Seaweed, Refried Beans | Foodie Roundup #34

    • It was my first time making them and I didn’t get a chance to ice. but I would say that icing would be extra yummy and go down superbly with the little ones. I think I’ll have to make them again, just so I can experiment with icing :p

Leave a Reply

