Pumpkin Blondies

Pumpkin is in abundance at the markets these days, you can’t miss it. It comes in all shapes and sizes and this colourful squash can be used in all manner of forms and tastes good with a variety of different flavours.

I have been meaning to make blondies for so long, mainly because the idea intrigued me, a lighter brownie. And being a blondie myself, I couldn’t resist πŸ˜‰ The recipe for blondies calls for less sugar and less butter than the average brownie. Now, I’m not dumbing down the almighty brownie, I am partial to one of those magnificent creatures on the odd occasion that I’m feeling a little indulgent.

After doing some research and discovering the best method with making a melt in the mouth blondie was to begin with brown butter. By simply doing this, you add a slightly nutty aromatic to your blondies. Making them all the more irresistible. It is quite a distinct smell. But don’t be put off by the idea. Trust me, they will be amazing!

Combining the blondie recipe with some pumpkin just seemed like a natural combination. Paired with some spices to liven it up a bit and give it a flare to separate it from any old blondie.

In this recipe, I have used spelt flour. This is the second time I have used Spelt in my baking. I have decided to incorporate Spelt into my baking as I find full wheat flours a bit too heavy, but that is my own particular dietary preference. It was an experiment and I really enjoyed the final result. It turned out to be lighter and fluffier.This recipe would work perfectly with plain flour.

Now let’s see if blondes do have more fun πŸ˜‰

The recipe I used.

120 grams butter, preferably salted

200 gm light brown sugar

2 small eggs, unbeaten

1 tspn vanilla essence

1/2 cup pumpkin (either baked and mashed or canned pumpkin will do)

1/2 tspn cinammon

1/2 tspn nutmeg

1/2 tspn salt

1 cup spelt flour

2/4 cup white choco chips

1/2 cup pecan nuts

Heat oven to 180 degrees celcius. I used a a cupcake tray to make mine, feel free to use a brownie tin or small loaf tin….oh, the possibilities are endless!

Place the butter in a small saucepan over medium heat. As the butter begins to melt, you will notice that it starts to gargle and the milk solids begin to separate and float to the bottom. If they float to the bottom, they may burn, thus giving the butter a burnt taste. Stir the butter to prevent this from happening and keep stirring until the butter turns brown and begins to give out a strong nutty odour.

Now, in a large baking bowl , whisk together the brown sugar and browned butter. Add in the eggs one at a time and beat after each addition.

Fold in the pumpkin puree and watch as the colour takes on a vibrant orange colour.

Tip in the vanilla essence, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. Mix to combine.

Sift in the flour of your choice.

Add in 1/2 the choco chips and the crushed nuts stir.

Divide between 12 cupcake tins or tip into a greased and lined brownie tin.

Bake for 18 minutes in the oven until golden and ready to be devoured.

8 thoughts on “Pumpkin Blondies

  1. Oh yeah baby…right up my taste street! Photography is really cool too. Just finished my mincemeat here in flood soaked Dublin!!

    • Thank you Hester πŸ™‚ That was a lot of fun. We covered the place in icing sugar but it was worth the clean up to get a nice pic like that. I began using spelt as I find it to be a lot lighter and my cakes and bakes are turning out to be fluffier too. Good for the soul as well.

Leave a Reply

