Mango and Honeycomb Ice Cream

Mango & Honeycomb Ice Cream

Ahh, the summer heat has hit Perth with a bang. Since returning to Perth after Christmas in Ireland, I have finally acclimatised over the last two weeks. The heat has become a little bit more bearable. Floating in and around 36 degrees with dreamy blue skies and sunshine to make you weak….until yesterday morning when I was happily peddling away on my bike to work and dun dun duuun!!! Thunder and Lightning hit. Cycling down streets dotted with utility poles and electric cables, I was petrified as well as being completely mesmerised by the lightning show on display in front of me. It was so close, about 4/5 kilometers ahead and the clouds were hanging down like damp cloths ready to be wrung.  As soon as I stepped in the door of work, the rain poured down for all of 20 minutes and then the sun was out, the blue skies were creeping through and the birds were chirping.  I must admit, I was a little disheartened. I love a good storm, especially from the comfort and safety of my office. I was expecting this storm to last all day, happily typing away at my desk  while the pitter patter of rain lashed outside. ‘Twas not to be.

Despite the mini storm yesterday, the temperatures still held up. It was wonderfully windy but still dry. On the way home, there is a monstrous hill, a force to be reckoned with and when I reached the top of the hill I was gasping for a drink of ice cold water and then I started dreaming of the pot of mango and honeycomb ice cream that was sitting happily in my freezer at home.

Mango and honeycomb ice cream? Well, that’s a strange combination I hear you say! Surprisingly enough, it is quite dreamy. With the fresh mangoes we bought at the Subiaco Farmer’s Market and some in house home made honey comb, combining the two was just bound to happen. The mango flesh was so juicy and just fell off the skin when we peeled them, easily incorporated into the ice cream mixture and they gave that lovely yellow tint to the finished product. I added in the honey comb just before pouring into the jar and you instantly see it begin to melt into the mixture. When the ice cream is complete, the honey comb is chewy and golden and a pretty fantastic little surprise on your spoon.

Ingredients

100 g Castor Sugar

1egg

1 egg yolk

1 tspn vanilla essence

300 ml double cream

2 medium mangoes, peeled and stone removed

A handful of bite sized honeycomb pieces

Method

Over a pot of simmering water, place a heat proof bowl (Bain Marie)

In this, place the sugar, egg and egg yolk and vanilla essence. Whisk for about 6 minutes, until pale and fluffy.

In a food mixer (speed #4) or a separate bowl, whisk the double cream until soft peaks form.

Incorporate the egg mixture  into the cream and fold through.

Add in the mango flesh and combine until everything is mixed evenly.

Turn the mixer off, if using, and add in the bite sized pieces of honeycomb.

Pour into a sterilised jar and pop into the freezer for a minimum of 4 hours.

If you feel the need, you can take the ice cream out of the freezer after a couple of hours and give it a little mix. I have never had to do this, but as it is no churn ice cream, keep an eye on it. I usually leave the ice cream over-night.

The following day, eat out of the jar or share with friends….however you prefer!

9 thoughts on “Mango and Honeycomb Ice Cream

  1. What a lovely piece of writing! I saw the skies, heard the birds and tasted the fruit! I adore mangoes, am an addict but a snob at the same time. Have you ever tried Alphonso mangoes? They are the king of them all, in my humble world. When april/may comes around, I will definitely give your intriguing recipe a good. Thankyou for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Death by Chocolate | Carolanne's Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Death by Chocolate - Carol-Anne's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

