Summer Fruits Cordial

Summer Fruits Cordial Glass

Some changes have been happening around Carol-Anne’s Kitchen (YAY)…can you tell? Over the Christmas holidays, I was introduced to the lovely Dan Leydon from Hot Footy News. Dan is a freelance Graphic Designer with an amazing eye and a head chockers full of doodles and fantastic ideas. I met up with Dan to discuss some ideas and immediately he blew me away with all of his drawings. He captured the meaning and the idea behind my blog. He had given me exactly what I wanted. The fruits of his labour can now be seen in my blog. I hope you like it too πŸ™‚

The last few days here in the sunny west of Australia have been a bit dull and dreary, it has been raining, quite humid and sticky, the clouds weighing above us like rags that need to be wrung. Despite this however, I did not hear one complaint from anyone. The previous weeks to this had us in the middle of a sweltering heatwave. Ever since returning from my Christmas holidays back in Ireland, there has been a mix of seasons hitting the city of Perth. It feels like Summer, Autumn and Spring have all joined forces. So when I woke up this morning, I thanked my lucky stars for such a cool, breezy day. One of those days when you can throw open the french doors, leave the air conditioning off, let the fresh air fill your house and then head out for a walk in the refreshing afternoon ahead of you.

Today is a day that reminds me of home. On occasion in Ireland, we would get a nice few days during the summer. A little sun, some blue sky and just a dash of cloud. The wind would always be blowing but the sun would heighten everyone’s spirits, they might even head to the beach if they were feeling fancy! On days like today, you feel like hopping on your bike and heading off to the park with friends and enjoying a picnic, maybe bring a blanket and some nice goodies to share with your friends. Whenever we have a picnic, I always like to bring along some cordial. Everyone loves cordial, elder-flower being one of my favourites. It gives a slight spring into your lunch and with some tastes of the summer, you’re always going to be in a good mood.

A couple of weeks ago, I made a Poached Peach Cake for the Sweet Adventures Blog Hop. In order to poach the peaches, I had to set them in a simmering syrup of water, castor sugar and vanilla beans. After I had finished with the cake, I bottled the syrup knowing it was too good to be gotten rid of. A few days later then, I made the cake again as my boss was leaving work and I thought it would be the perfect treat to wish her on her way. This time I used the syrup to poach peaches and plums. The plums gave off this wonderful deep hue of dark pink. Knowing full well I had to hold onto this syrup, I bottled it once more and stored it in the fridge for a couple of days. Everyday I opened the fridge wondering what I could put it in, ice cream? Cupcakes? Cocktails? Frosting? Salad dressing? All great ideas but I wanted something refreshing that I could have. I basically just wanted to drink the syrup. Every time I popped open the jar it would give off this sweet aromatic smell of summer. There could only be one thing for it I thought. Cordial.

 

 

 

 

 

Summer Fruits Cordial

3 peaches

3 plums

1 cup castor sugar

2 cups water

1 vanilla bean

Using a sharp knife, cut the fruit in half, removing any stones and pips.

Then using the same knife, draw a line length ways through the centre of the vanilla pod, being careful to keep the opposite side still intact. Gently scrape out the vanilla beans inside.

In a wide based sauce pan, pour in the water and sugar, vanilla beans and pod.

Heat to a gentle simmer.

Once the sugar has dissolved, reduce heat.

Gently place the fruit halves in the pan. Leave for 10 minutes

Turn the fruit to make sure both sides get poached.

When you are finished, removethe fruit with a slotted spoon and set on a cooling rack and then use the fruit to make a yummy cake.

For the syrup, place a piece of cheese cloth in a sieve over a medium sized bowl. Pour the syrup through this and let is drip through.

Bottle in a sterilised jar and refrigerate. Use as you wish. This can be used in salad dressings and in buns/cakes. It’s quite versatile but my favourite so far is the cordial.

I hope you are enjoying some fine weather wherever you are πŸ™‚

I hope you are enjoying some fine weather wherever you are πŸ™‚

c.a. xx

12 thoughts on “Summer Fruits Cordial

  1. Your site looks fantastic! I love the header/logo/doodles/ and especially the wee Irish touch in it ;-))

    I love cordials…oooh I could get that scent. Another one for my summer must make list πŸ˜‰

  2. Hey there! Been meaning to tell you that I love your new blog look! And, this post is so wonderfully summertastic….especially when it’s so cold in Ireland at the moment. Beautiful images xx

Leave a Reply

