Garlic and Herb Prawns


 

We all enjoy the simple things in life. Well, I know I do. I learnt a very important lesson last night at the Super Night ShotWithout the banal everything is boring. The plain and simple is what makes life so exciting. At the end of the day, we’re all doing the same thing. We all want to be the hero, even if you want to be your own hero. We all want some action and we all want the big ending…to fall in love. The dramas, the worries…it happens to all of us every day. A life of these plain and simple experiences is what makes life so exciting.

Recently, a lot of new ‘stirrings’ have been happening and moving in a certain direction, I’ve done my best to follow them. Whether they may be someone’s advice, who previously I had never paid heed to. An idea that I may not have had the most confidence to pursue before. A lifestyle change. Energy. Watching the movers and shakers have an influence on my life and going with the flow of the current. Making me realise that the plain and simple, the banal, is what really means the most. The obvious things. Don’t get complex. Nothing has to be “out there” to be interesting.

My favourite part of the week is sleeping in on Saturday mornings and cherishing those extra few moments where the blanket cuddles you, a smile from your sleepy other half and you know a wonderful day awaits you. Am I sounding too corny? Probably. Do I care? Not so much.

‘And I told you to be patient
And I told you to be fine
And I told you to be balanced
And I told you to be kind’

Bon Iver ‘Skinny Love’

Now, to move onto something completely unrelated, although still simple. A recipe for prawns. Last week, after training, I was looking for a recipe using hake fillets and Borbia just so happened to have one. Lemony, buttery and herby. My favourite. Needless to say, I polished it off and *almost* licked the plate clean. A couple of nights later, I was cooking up some prawns, having asked on Twitter for some delicious, healthy recipes there were lots. Sambuca prawns from The Strawberry Thief, Thai Green Curry Prawns from The Red Hot Spatula and some scrumptious prawn recipes from the Blue Apocalypse. My foodie/blogger friends were not letting me down. Alas, despite all of these fantastic ideas, I wanted something buttery and herby…you can guess where this is going. I used Bordbia’s idea and just altered it slightly. If you follow these easy peasy instructions, I promise sweet juicy, succulent prawns will follow 🙂

Serves 2 as a main or 4 as tapas/entree

Ingredients

1 tbslpn Olive Oil, you may need extra if the wok dries out

300g fresh uncooked prawns

1 tblspn (real) butter

Large handful of freshly chopped herbs – I used parsley and chives

2 cloves freshly grated garlic

Method

Heat a large wok and toss in the olive oil, swirling it around to cover all of the edges.

In batches, place the prawns down…do not crowd the pan, I did this in three batches of 8.

You want to give at least 2 mins a side or until the prawns turn a nice peachy colour on one side. Flip.

After two minutes on the opposite side, place to one side and do your next batch.

Continue until all of your prawns are fully cooked.

In the same wok, place the butter, grated garlic and herbs.

Swirl around, the smell is tantalising.

When the butter has melted and the garlic is crispy, toss in the cooked prawns and mix up for 30 seconds, until everything is covered in  the herby mixture.

Serve immediately.

We had ours with a salad and some steam broccoli and mangetout.

p.s. Are you a mover and a shaker?

c.a. xx

2 thoughts on “Garlic and Herb Prawns

Leave a Reply

