Voluptuous Velvety Valentines!

 

Yes, I gave in. I’m a hopeless romantic and couldn’t let Valentine’s Day pass without making something full of pink food colouring, pink marshmallows and lots of chocolate. I haven’t baked anything sweet or naughty in over 2 weeks so I was using this as the light at the end of the tunnel. I had to get my baking fix in at some point before my internal combustulator went off. Now that it is done, I can happily put my apron back on it’s hook for a few more weeks.

What you are looking at are Voluptuous Velvety Valentines…this is the only way that I can describe these amazing creatures. Initially, I had this grand, romantic idea that they would come out hot pink and then I would cut them into heart shaped bundles of fluffyness and they would be elegant and presentable and I would call them something dainty. Not so. I had to use extra food dye, making them darker and the batter was quite runny going into the oven despite my accurate following and mixing of two recipes :p who knew that didn’t work! All it did need was a little extra baking time in the oven and then the cool down period that followed was about 40 minutes. A little TLC goes a long way. The recipe yielded 16 brownies, they are *quite* dense and also resemble a moist rocky road brownie. You will most likely have to share it with your loved one, but that’s what it’s all about. Love and sharing.

Recipe adapted from BBC Food and Smells Like Home

3 tablespoons rose pink colouring

2 teaspoons vanilla essence

1 teaspoon water

240g unsalted butter

150g white chocolate

60g cocoa

150g Spelt flour

500g Golden castor sugar

5 organic free range eggs, beaten

150g marshmallows chopped

handful of macadamias

Method

Preheat oven to 190°C

Grease a 12 inch baking tin, line with grease proof paper, and spray a little oil.

In a medium sized saucepan, melt the butter and white chocolate.

In the mean time, combine the cocoa, pink colouring and vanilla essence in a small bowl.

Form a paste, add a few drops of water to ensure the mixture is evenly mixed.

In a mixer/bowl, sift the flour and add the sugar. Begin mixing on low.

Stir for 1 minute.

(Place the macadamias in the oven for 3 minutes)

Add in the beaten eggs to your mixing bowl. Stir for 1 minute.

Spoon in the pink dye mix. Mix for 2 minutes.

Turn mixer off. Remove the macadamias from the oven, cool and chop.

Add in the chopped marshmallows and macadamias.

Pour the batter into a cake tin.

Bake in the oven for 30 minutes.

Check after 2o, it may depend on the oven. You want the centre to be a little squidgy.

Leave to cool in the pan on a wire rack for at least 40 minutes.

Happy Valentines Day lovelies!!

c.a. xx

P.s. Seeing as it’s all about the love, I thought I would submit this recipe to English Mum’s Baked With Love Bake Off

One thought on “Voluptuous Velvety Valentines!

Leave a Reply

