Knickerbocker Glory

This, my friends is one of my all time favourite childhood desserts. The name alone would spark any child’s interest. I used to love ordering one when we were out on family get togethers just so I could say the name to the waitress. Oh to be an easily amused mini me again. This post came about for this month’s Sweet Adventure’s Blog Hop. The theme was Layer upon Layer created by The Kitchen Crusader and when I mentioned the theme to Mr. T the very first thing that popped out of his mouth was ‘KNICKERBOCKER GLORY’ and suddenly we were both acting like kids again, getting excited about what to put in it and how many layers to make. I ended up having to do a bit of research on this dessert and decided to go my own route with it. A Knickerbocker Glory is made up of layers of ice cream, jelly, meringue, custard, cream, sauce and fruit :O I omitted a couple of these as I wanted to make the dessert a little more adult friendly. With a combination of meringue, ice cream, chocolate sauce, cherries and syrup we were on  to a winner. As I write this, we have just demolished one each…well I couldn’t finish mine.

The name Knickerbocker stems from the pantaloons that young kids used to wear back in the 30’s. Big baggie kneed pants that tied in at the knee. The actual connection to the dessert, I have no idea about but again, it’s fun to say!

I began by making the vanilla ice cream first:

100g castor sugar

1 egg

1 egg yolk

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

350 ml double cream

In a double broiler, whisk the sugar, vanilla essence and eggs until light and fluffy. In a mixing bowl, whisk the cream until stiff peaks form. Fold the egg mixture into the cream and freeze; minimum of four hours.

Next up was the fruit:

300g frozen cherries

150ml water

150g castor sugar

2 bay leaves

In a medium saucepan, heat the sugar, water and bay leaves. When the sugar dissolves, add in the frozen fruit. Simmer for a few minutes until the fruits softens up and sit. The bay leaves give the fruit a great after taste.

The magical meringue:

Heat oven to 100 degrees celcius

4 egg whites

220g castor sugar

Whisk the egg whites and gradually add in the castor sugar. Keep whisking until stiff peaks form (turn the bowl upside down, if the mixture stays put, it’s ready)

Spread mixture onto a lined baking tray, pop in the oven for 60 minutes or until it lifts off the baking paper easily.

The chocolate sauce that I used came from David Lebovitz and the whipped cream was whipped in a mixing bowl and then piped onto the Knickerbocker Glory.

Now if you didn’t have enough fun making all those bits and bobs, here is where the fun begins! Begin your assembly with a few spoons of fruit syrup and cherries. Add a scoop of ice cream, some fruit, meringue, chocolate sauce, ice cream, syrup, fruit, meringue, chocolate sauce and continue like so until your reach the top of the glass. Pipe on your whipped cream and add a few more cherries, some chocolate sauce and commence the gobbling!

Depending on how you space out your ingredients, there should be enough for 3 hungry tummies. Beware your teeth may hurt. Mine sure did. But it was worth the giddyness of getting this together and the smather we made eating it! When it all starts melting, get your straw in there and slurp up all the good bits at the bottom 😉

Click on the icon below to check out the rest of the Layers upon Layers Blog Posts. They are some amazing ones from Chocolate Eclair Cake  to Purple Carrot Cake Trifle.

10 thoughts on “Knickerbocker Glory

  1. Wow, just wow!!! Amazing how you made 5 recipes sound so simple to throw together 😉 I think my fav bits are meringue with ice cream and adding bay leaves to the cherries – delicious! Have you come down from the sugar high yet?!

  2. Oooooh yum! Even the words “kickerbocker glory” conjure dreams of exotic treats. I don’t think I ever had one but wanted no dessert more when we were kids. Now I’ll try this for myself 🙂

  3. I love the name of this dessert and it looks fabulous! Putting the straw in the slurp from the bottom sounds fun!

  4. Looking at your delicious entry, I can feel that I am going to need a larger size of knickerbockers very soon!

Leave a Reply

