Lemon and Blueberry Cake

Remember in my last post when I waxed lyrical about the cool weather, the crisp breeze becoming more prevalent and the Autumn season settling in? It has definitely stayed cooler than previous weeks, but the sun is still out in full force and those famous Western Australian blue skies are shining for all to see. I haven’t seen a drop of rain in weeks. I’m totally happy with this weather, it’s the kind that I can get used to. All year round. But that will never happen. So I am reveling in this sunny, Autumn weather and enjoying the cool evenings whilst they are here. Before the real cold sets in. I am looking forward to a bit of rain though!

Something pretty exciting is also happening next weekend. A fellow foodblogger and myself are setting up the very first Clandestine Cake Club in Perth, in Australia actually. We are pretty excited about it. A few months ago I read this post and loved the idea. Indulging in cake in secret, ooh that does sound wild! So without further ado, head on over to Lynn’s site and check out all of the details. We have space for you cake lovers out there in Perth and it is sure to be a fun afternoon.

And on to the cakey goodness. This recipe came about from the theme for this month’s Sweet Adventures Blog Hop, LEMONS. I love lemons! and what do you do when life (or your local farmer’s market) gives you lemons, why you join in the fun and get making, baking, creating. I have been slowly veering, begrudgingly, away from baking with sugar and being a bit more creative with what goes into my cakes. I recently spent time flicking through this website gaining inspiration for some new dishes to make. I had some different varieties of gluten free flours lying around so thought that a gluten free cake should be on the cards. When I adapted Tina’s recipe to what I had in the cupboard, it turned out majestic. Paired with some candied lemons which I yoinked the idea from on this post. It turned out to be a magical wonder of moist, slightly sweet and very yummy cake.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. The cake is sugar free and the lemons have been candied in agave syrup. Feel free to exclude them, it just looks and tastes great with them.

Ingredients

2 Ripe bananas

200g fresh ricotta

1 Egg

75g unsalted butter

2-3tbsp real agave syrup

1tsp Vanilla essence

50g Ground almonds

100g Buckwheat flour

30g Rice flour

1tsp Baking powder

2tsp Cinnamon

50g Pecans, roughly chopped

120g Frozen blueberries

Zest of one lemon

Candied Lemons

100ml Water

50ml Agave nectar

1 whole lemon, sliced

Preheat the oven to 180C and line a small loaf tin with baking paper and some butter.

To make the candied lemons, place the water, agave syrup and lemon slices in a saucepan. Bring to the boil and allow to simmer for 10 minutes until the rinds have softened. Leave the lemons to one side and reserve the syrup.

In a stand mixer, blend together the bananas, ricotta, egg, butter, maple syrup and vanilla essence.

Add the ground almonds and mix well.

Combine the flours, baking powder and cinnamon and add to the mixture.

Stir in the chopped pecans and blueberries.

Don’t mix for too much longer (like I did) after the the blueberries have been added as they will melt into the mixture (like mine did).

Spoon the mixture into the lined loaf tin. Bake in the oven for 50 minutes, for the last 15 minutes, place a piece of tinfoil over the cake to prevent the lemons from burning.

The cake should be done when a toothpick comes out almost clean. The cake will be moist, but not overly sticky.

Drizzle with syrup and enjoy with a cuppa!

This recipe was created for the Sweet Adventures Blog Hop. Jennifer from LeDelicieux is hosting this month’s Hop. She is an avid lemon lover!! Head on over to her page and check out some more exciting lovely lemon treats.

I am experimenting with gluten free flours these days. I’m excited about the recipes I have tested and look forward to posting them. Have you ever tried baking with gluten free flours?

c.a. xx

P.s. Don’t forget to vote in the Best Australian Blog Awards – People’s Choice Awards. Carolanne’s Kitchen has been nominated. Simply select the blog/s you want to vote for, hit next until you are prompted to enter in your name and email address and click done. Thanks guys!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

16 thoughts on “Lemon and Blueberry Cake

  1. I love a good lemon cake, and well, a lemon and blueberry cake is even better. I love the candied lemon decorations. I just think candied citrus is so pretty. So glad you could join us for this months blog hop!

  2. Loving your recipe Carol-Anne, I’m always on the hunt for low sugar baked goods. I’ve just been reading about your clandestine cake club too, what a fabulous idea! We have just started a preserves group for the same sorts of reasons but we’re not nearly as crafty about it. Very cool! 🙂

  3. What a gorgeous looking cake! Busy lady these days with secret clubs and blog nominations! Love it! Best of luck with both of them!! xxx

  4. Clandestine Cake Club?? Clandestine Cake Club??!!! If I ever get back out to Perth my trip will be planned around this brilliant idea 😉 I’ll have to try this cake, although I’m not gf I like using other flours whenever possible – and I love buckwheat. Blueberries and lemon go so well together too!

  5. I’m always looking for healthy treats for our little family – this could very well be it (with a little adaption around Master O’s allergies)… It looks deliciously moist!

Leave a Reply

