Chocolate Yoghurt Cake

Oh dear have I been neglecting my poor blog. This last month has been a bit of a whirlwind of activity that I didn’t have an evening to myself to sit down and write. I’ve missed it and have been making some nourishing, wholesome goodies to put up here but before I get to those, how about some cake?

Cakes have never been my forte and boy did that become more obvious when we started the Cake Club two months ago. My flaws were right up there on a cake plate on display for all to see. Not a great look but one that is amendable. I think and hope dearly!

A couple of weeks ago, my boss came into work with a slice of chocolate cake that himself and his kids had made for mother’s day. I was given a slice to test the goods, I jumped at the chance. I told myself I would have one mouthful and then share the rest but the minute I opened the box, the deep aroma of rich cocoa filled the air and I devoured it like a crazed lunatic. Soon after, I demanded the recipe and ran home to bake it. A bbq/baby shower came up with some of T’s colleagues and I thought it would be a perfect opportunity to brush up on my cake skills. I was right. I replaced the plain flour with Spelt, making it friendly to my tum and also adding that extra fluffiness to the cake. The natural yoghurt paired with spelt flour makes it moist and moreish.

Chocolate Yoghurt Cake

100g Dark Chocolate

150ml boiling water

275g Spelt flour (sifted twice)

3/4 tspn baking powder

1 1/2 tspn bicarbonate of soda

175g unsalted butter

275g soft brown sugar

3 large eggs

150ml natural yoghurt (I used closer to 200ml)

1 tspn vanilla essence

Frosting

175g Unsalted butter

350g Icing sugar

6 tablespoons cocoa powder

1-2 tbsp strong coffee

To decorate – cacchous

Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease two 10 inch springform cake tins.

Break Chocolate up and place in a bowl, pour the boiling water over the chocolate and whisk like the clappers

*note* The combination of water and chocolate won’t seize or split if you whisk it the minute the minute the water hits the chocolate. I was very apprehensive when I first read through the recipe but it works.

In a separate bowl, sift the flour, baking powder and bicarb twice.

In a third mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar together, beat in eggs one at a time.

Pour in chocolate and beat for one more minute

Mix in the flour, yoghurt and vanilla.

Separate the mixture into the two tins.

Bake for 30-35 minutes depending on oven .

Whilst the cakes are baking, make your frosting (I did this the day after the cakes were made to let them sufficiently cool down)

Cream the butter in a mixer, gradually add in the icing sugar, cocoa powder and the coffee essence.

Using a good palette knife, ice the top of one cake and then place the second one on top. Ice all around the cake and decorate with cacchous to make it all lovely and pretty!

Enjoy with friends, because that’s the best thing to do with cake!!!

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Yoghurt Cake

  1. This looks like a great chocolate cake recipe. C says that it’s not a chocolate cake unless it has ACTUAL chocolate in it! So I’ll have to try this one out on him. The recipe looks like your pour boiling water into chocolate… won’t that make it seize?

  2. I confess to being that boss. This recipe is my favorite of all, because it reminds me of all the best things in life, rich, moist, sumptuous, delicious and a little naughty. It is my wife’s recipe, and she likes it because even a complete fool in the kitchen like me can make it and not muck it up too much. Edward

Leave a Reply

