Kitchen Sink Granola Bars

A couple of weeks ago, I finally admitted that I was injured. Something I didn’t want to as the football season had just started and I was loving being part of the team and on top of that, being active is a big part of my lifestyle. I was training with a great bunch of girls and an excellent coach to lead us. However, on the night of our first match of the season, I was standing on the side line about to go on with a searing pain going through my legs. I lasted about 10 minutes and then I was done. The following week I attempted a go at training but it was short lived and I haven’t been to a training session in two weeks. So, I have been taking it very easy the last few weeks, lots of walking and Iyengar yoga, visits to the Osteopath and I’m on the road to recovery.

In March I signed up to take part in the HBF Run for a Reason with my team mates and on Sunday 27th May, 9 of us did the 4km run and 3 did the 12km run. The girls had a match later that day and I knew they would need some serious sustenance to perk up after the run. Along came the Kitchen Sink Granola Bars, the name says it all really, jam packed full of all my favourite bits and pieces. They’re perfect for girls (or boys) on the go!

Over the last two months, we raised close to $2,000 for the Lifeline Charity, a charity that is close to the girl’s hearts. On Sunday, when we were all getting ready to start the run, I had planned on walking the course as my legs are banjaxed so watching the girls take off I plugged my headphones in and toddled along. Little did I know that walking was going to be so hard; dodging prams and little kids was like an obstacle course, so as soon as I hit the 2km mark, my feet just took off from underneath me and I was off running. The sun was beaming down on the participants and I could see people around me were having so much fun. Thousands of people took to the streets to raise money and it felt great! I think I must have laughed the last kilometre, I was high as a kite. I reached the finish line with a big smile on my face, having thought that running was virtually impossible, I was in great form. I did feel a little niggle but nothing worrying. Lots of stretching afterwards and a munch on a chewy, buttery granola bar had me in great spirits.

These granola bars have pretty much everything but the kitchen sink in them. Spelt, nuts, dried fruits, hemp, coconut, dark chocolate chips, linseed, cacao nibs…you name it, it’s in there. It’s all good for you too 🙂

220g Rolled organic spelt

60g Wholemeal Spelt flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

400g mixture of dried fruits, nuts etc (I used dessicated coconut, chopped almonds, cacao nibs, chopped pecans, ground LSA (linseed, almonds, sunflower seeds), dried apricots, raisins, chopped peanuts, hulled hemp and black chia seeds)

90g melted unsalted butter

60ml Real maple syrup

60ml agave nectar

3 heaped tablespoons crunchy peanut butter

1 tablespoon glucose syrup

1 tspn almond essence -optional (It was a nice surprising addition though)

Heat oven to 180°C. Grease a 10×10 inch baking tin and line with a long piece of grease proof paper, so there is an over hang, this will make it easy to lift out once baked.

Mix all the dry ingredients in a a bowl.

Melt the butter, agave nectar, maple syrup, glucose syrup, peanut butter and vanilla essence in a saucepan.

Pour the wet ingredients into the mixing bowl and stir to combine.

Pour into the prepared tin and bake in the oven for 30 minutes until golden brown.

The granola will still be soft when you remove it from the oven, place the baking tin on a wire rack until cool, use the greaseproof paper over hang to pull the granola out, place on a chopping board and cut into slices.

Wrap up in greaseproof paper and store in an airtight container.

T requested these be made for the week, he loves bringing granola to work to have with his coffee in the morning, so homemade granola will be the perfect addition! I hope he likes them 🙂

Leave a Reply

