Butternut Squash Soup

This week in Ireland is National Vegetarian Week. From Monday 4th – Monday 11th June people all over Ireland will be participating in a full on vegetarian only diet. I’m going to take the plunge and yesterday, stocked up on lots of colourful fresh fruit and vegetables for the week. It’s pretty exciting to come up with vibrant new ideas for utilising the mountain of fruit and veg we now have in the pantry.

I used to be a vegetarian in my early twenties and I loved it. There was an abundance of variety, colour and flavour in my diet, not to mention the energy that followed. I enjoyed it for just over three years until one day, the smell of bacon got me and I was a gonner!

So, this week I’m going to go back to the veggies and maybe, who knows what will happen after that.

The National Vegetarian Week website is teeming with veg inspired menus as well as that they are looking for your favourite veg inspired bbq dishes as summer in Ireland is kicking off with blazing sunshine. Just upload your pic of your favourite dish to their facebook page.

You can also follow all of the action on twitter too @IrishVegWeek.

I kicked off this morning with a Blueberry Green Monster Smoothie, inspired by the Run With Tina blog, for dinner I’ve made a steaming  hot pot of Butternut Squash Soup, as it’s winter in Perth, I need some extra comfort and warmth!

Follow this easy peasy recipe and enjoy with my homemade Spelt and Quinoa Soda Bread

Serves four famished tums or 6 for a starter

Ingredients

2 medium onions

400g chopped potatoes (I used 3 small ruby lous with the skin on)

850g peeled and chopped butternut squash

1.5 litres vegetable stock

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon whole peppercorns

1 star anise

Method

Heat a pot with sunflower oil and add the onions. Flavour with the nutmeg, whole star anise and peppercorns.

Throw in the chopped potatoes and coat with the onions.

Cook for a few minutes.

Add in the chopped butternut squash, mix through.

Pour in the vegetable stock and simmer for about 20 minutes

Remove from the heat

Remove the star anise and flavour with some salt and whizz.

4 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Pingback: Maple Glazed Rhubarb and Goat’s Cheese Salad | Carolanne's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: A few of my favourite things | Carolanne's Kitchen

  3. Pingback: A few of my favourite things - Carol-Anne's Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Maple Glazed Rhubarb and Goat's Cheese Salad - Carol-Anne's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

