Maple Glazed Rhubarb and Goat’s Cheese Salad

A really simple salad that is perfect for the winter weather here in Perth. Which really isn’t that wintry, it’s more like Irish Spring weather. Not complaining though. The skies are blue, sometimes and I swear I found the bottom of a rainbow yesterday…sadly there was no pot o’gold!

This week has been all about eating green. On Monday I posted a recipe for a spiced Butternut Squash Soup. I decided to go veggie for the week as part of the Irish National Vegetarian Week which saw us concocting Super Green Smoothies for brekkie, Vegetarian Bolognese, Pizzas, Nachos, Stir Fries and now this yummy salad. I think sometimes it is important to go ‘green’. I really enjoyed it and I think my body was grateful for the break from meat/fish. I usually do eat a lot of veg, but it is always paired with meat. Maybe it’s just time for the vegetables to shine.

The tarty rhubarb in this salad paired with a creamy grilled goats cheese and crunchy almonds is my idea of a luxurious lunch.

I love rhubarb and have grown up with a stash of rhubarb jams in the cupboards from times when we would visit my mum’s cousins in Limerick. They would load our boot full of freshly picked rhubarb  from their garden and for weeks to follow mum would produce jars of sticky sweet rhubarb jam. When our bellies ached from too much jam, there was a hearty rhubarb crumble produced for guests when they appeared.

When I was recently introduced to the Ringwould Dairy company in Margaret River, I fell head over heels for their marinated goats cheese. When I discovered their creamy goat’s cheese in the shops, it just seemed right that it would be suited and booted with some glazed rhubarb.  I threw in a handful of almonds to the rhubarb/maple mixture and the result was so moreish. Whole almonds with a sticky syrupy coating, it hardened and was much like a pre-blitzed praline yumfest.

Here’s what you will need for a simple winter salad for 2 people

4 Rhubarb Stalks

Glug of Maple Syrup (60ml +)

Handful of Almonds

2 blocks of Goat’s Cheese, about 50g per person

Dressing of Choice (I opted for balsamic and Olive Oil)

Handful of your favourite greens (I chose Spinach)

Chop the rhubarb into bite size chunks

In a bowl, combine the rhubarb, maple syrup and almonds. Toss and leave to one side for ten minutes.

Heat a grill and place the mixture on a baking tray, place under the grill and toast for about 8-10 minutes. Until the rhubarb is soft to the touch and the almonds are golden.

Remove from the grill and leave to one side.

Place the goats cheese on a baking tray and under the grill. Cook until the top of the goat’s cheese is golden brown and melty.

Mix your salad greens in the dressing and arrange on the plates.

Beginning with the rhubarb, start to dress the salad with your grilled goodies. You can either crumble the goat’s cheese or leave it whole.

Drizzle in some dressing and grab the nearest fork 😉

Leave a Reply

