Blueberry and Chocolate Porridge

A blustery week has settled on Perth and I’ve been craving warm, comforting indulgent foods. I’m really enjoying winter down under, apart from getting stuck in a torrential downpour the other day, it’s lovely. Everyone is decked out in scarves, boots and hats and looked so toasty in cafes wrapped around steaming hot cups of cocoa and coffee.

A bowl of butternut and carrot soup was the perfect remedy for my sore throat earlier this week and then we pulled out our slow cooker for a cosy dish of pork ribs and veg, served up with my trademark creamy mash, we were in heaven. Snuggled up on the couch, scooping this up was so comforting and epitomised the ‘Irish mammy’ dinner, the type of food that when you’re out all day in the wind and rain, you walk in the front door and your mum greets you with a steaming hot plate of her finest grub. As you unwrap yourself from your layers of warmth, the heat of that dish lifts your mood and warms you from head to toe. I lose myself in memories of home when I cook a dish like this. It’s exactly what you need with this weather.

Alas, enough of the slow cooked pork, lets talk porridge. The staple of our family breakfast table. When I am at home with my folks, on rising, it’s runners on and around the mountain with my dad, then home to a gorgeous bowl of creamy porridge. Always with some juicy raisins and a touch of cinammon, it’s the perfect start to any day, hail, rain or shine.

A couple of weeks ago, my sister had the pure genius idea of sending me a picture of her steaming porridge with a slice of dark, rich, luxurious chocolate in it. I must have it I thought, I must! She said ‘pop it on top of your porridge and watch it melt’. It sounded divine and I can safely say, after indulging in this creation, it surely is. I added a couple of my favourites to the porridge as well to up the anti a little.

70g Gluten free oats (with 2 parts water)

1 tablepsoon ground linseed

1 tablepsoon almond meal

handful of blueberries

Dark Chocolate – I used Green & Black’s 70%

Milk of your choice (mine was almond)

Place the oats, water, linseed and almond meal in a saucepan. Cook over a medium heat for about 5-8 minutes, stirring all the time.

Just before the porridge is finished, add in the blueberries (as mine were frozen, this gently cooked them). You can add them in after cooking if you prefer.

Serve in a big bowl, place the chocolate in the centre, wait for it to  melt and stir.

Stir in your milk and prepare for a feast.

This recipe is for one person, double the recipe for a rosemantic snuggly brekkie!

3 thoughts on “Blueberry and Chocolate Porridge

  1. Hahaha I love this!! My boyfriend won’t eat porridge unless there is like 1000000spoons of sugar and an abundance of chocolate in it.
    Super tasty but there goes your healthy start into the day……:D

Leave a Reply

