Peanut Butter Granola

That’s right, Peanut Butter Granola with some added raw cacao powder for that extra vah vah voom! It’s gorgeous and the smell as it bakes in your oven will have sitting in front of the oven door, spoon in hand for the timer to ping. I am guilty of this.

I am absolutely in love with peanut butter. It was a staple in all of our lunchboxes but there has been a peanut butter renaissance as of late in my baking/cooking repertoire. I have been putting it in everything. Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall opened up my taste buds to Sweet Potato and Peanut Butter Gratin which is a serious wholesome comfort food. I love having it in my oats in the morning with some homemade Strawberry Chia Jam (recipe to come). It has been so comforting on these dark and chilly mornings in Perth. Peanut Butter is naturally full of protein and great fats which nourish our bodies.

Now, I command you to go to your local health food store and pick up a jar of whole peanut butter where the ingredients simply read: 100% peanuts. No added extras.

One other thing I must mention is the oats I used. I was particularly excited about receiving this month’s Urban Locavore box as it contained a 1 kg bag of Mason’s Rolled Oats. I love oats and I love these guys. Their oats are grown AND packaged on the farm. No chemicals, totally natural, totally healthy. Boom! The Mason Family are based in Kojanup in Western Australia and implement the use of the Demeter trademark, quality produce produced using the Bio dynamic Agricultural Method.. They even include some nifty looking recipes for ANZAC Bicuits and Porridge on the packet. Right up my street!

So here we go

870g Oats

340g Local Honey/Maple Syrup

230g Peanut Butter – chunky style

2 Heaped Tbspns Cacao Powder

2 Heaped Tbspns Coconut Oil

150g Peanuts

1/2 tspn Vanilla Essence

Pinch Sea Salt

Heat oven to 160 degrees

In a saucepan, gently heat the Cacao Powder, Vanilla, Peanut Butter and Honey.

Place the oats and salt in a large mixing bowl

When the wet mixture has fully melted, pour in to the oats mixture and combine fully.

Place on a baking tray and baked for 15-20 minutes.

Every 5 minutes, toss the mixture with a spoon to ensure it doesn’t burn and is evenly baked.

I thought this would be the perfect addition to the Sweet Adventures Blog Hop. This month’s theme is Nuts! Really excited to read all of the submissions. Nic from Dining with a Stud is this month’s host.

Head on over to Nic’s blog to see the rest of the beautiful recipes for this month’s Sweet Adventures Blog Hop.

17 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Granola

  1. I bookmarked this even before I’d read the recipe lol. I adore PB and this is SO me I am struggling to find the words for its amazingness haha. Thank you for this recipe 😀 and thank you for joining the hop!

  2. I love that this recipe contains so many of my favourite flavours – peanut butter, chocolate (well cacao powder – even better!), coconut and cinnamon. I can already imagine how good it tastes 🙂

    I am trying to find ways to use up my bag of oats from Urban Locavore and I have most the ingredients at home for the granola except for maple syrup. Could I use agave syrup or honey as a substitute?

    Ai-Ling

  3. This is dangerous – very dangerous! I’ve been looking forward to reading the recipe ever since I saw it on Instagram – gorgeous shots too! I’m not sure I should make this EVER as it will get eaten in one go – ha!

  4. Pingback: Friday’s Fun Bits (21): Mixed Berry & Coconut Water Smoothie, Food Festivals, Spicy Nuts… | Spelt for Choice: Marian's Kitchen Blog

  5. Pingback: Exciting News!! | Carolanne's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

