Date, Almond and Cacao Nib Granola Bars

I was so excited about receiving a copy of ‘The Surf Cafe Cookbook’ a few weeks ago in the post. I was following Jane’s updates on Facebook about the book’s progress and when the publishing date came around, I was so excited. Photos from their launch night looked amazing and were full of familiar Sligo faces that I miss dearly. I was wishing I had been there. So you can only imagine how thrilled I was to get a copy in the post. I dived right in and by the time T arrived home, I was a blubbering mess. The book is stunning. Pictures of home, the surf and the food. I miss it all!

The ‘Surf Cafe Cookbook’ was written by Jane and Myles Lamberth from Shells Cafe in Strandhill, Co. Sligo. It is full of stories about local surf, food and recipes. Stories about why the west coast is the best coast.

I love granola and any excuse to try out a new recipe. The very first recipe in the book is the ‘Local Honey Surf Energy Bars’. They immediately stood out to me. Really simple, wholesome, local ingredients. Melt, stir, bake, cool, slice and devour.

I adapted the recipe slightly to what I had in the cupboard and they turned out to be gorgeous!

I adore cacao nibs and the ones used here are from Gabriel Chocolate in Yallingup. Jammers full of antioxidants and a beautiful bitter, smoky crunch. The Elixir raw honey used here is also from down south in Denmark. This honey is so special as it has been gravity filtered and hand packed. There are also elements of propolis, pollen and beeswax. Wowzers!!!

Recipe adapted from ‘Local Honey Surf Granola Bars’ in ‘The Surf Cafe Cookbook’

125g unsalted organic butter
150g organic coconut sugar
75g raw local honey (or your favourite local honey)
300g organic rolled oats
150g chopped dates
Large handful of almonds
Handful of organic cacao nibs
Feel free to add in some extra seeds too.

Heat oven to 160 °C. Line and grease an 8″/20cm baking dish.

Weigh out all of the dry ingredients first. Combine together in a mixing bowl.

Melt butter, coconut sugar and honey together in a pan over a medium heat.

Pour the butter/sugar mixture into the dry ingredients and combine thoroughly.

Bake in the oven for 30 minutes.

Remove from the oven and place the dish on a wire rack. Allow to cool completely. These bars are virtually impossible to cut unless fully cooled.

Wrap in grease proof paper, secure with some twine and store in an airtight container. These will last up to one week (ours never do!!!).

Perfect for brekkie on the go, post-surf, after a fitness session, with a cuppa on a rainy day. Anytime really!

I hope you enjoy, let me know how you like them 🙂

Bonne weekend!

5 thoughts on “Date, Almond and Cacao Nib Granola Bars

  1. Hi! Getting looking into making my baking a little healthier, I’ve used beetroot and avocado in chocolate cakes, they were a treat! Thanks for this recipe and the tip about Shells- I think there are too few real bakeries/cafes in rural Ireland (I am from Cavan), hopefully I will get to Sligo soon!

    Deirdre @ thekitschcook.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

