So long…..

Things have been a bit quiet around here for the last couple of weeks. That is, quiet on the blog but life has certainly not been so. There have been restless and sometimes sleepless nights. A busy mind and a tired body. Lots of last minute catch-ups with old friends, discovering new places with new friends. The last few weeks have been leading up to my time to say so long to Perth. For a short while, hopefully.

Perth, you have been truly an inspiration. You have introduced me to friends I will keep for life. You created a sense of belonging for me and never once treated me like a blow-in. You made me really understand and appreciate the meaning of what it is to be proud of where you come from. The people I have met in Perth are so proud and so they should be. Perth may well be the most isolated city in the world but when you’re here, it does not feel like it. The community in Perth is strong and thriving. Especially that of local businesses, local producers and the local farmers who I have come to know and respect for their ongoing hard work to make this place the way it is.

I won’t lie, before I moved to Perth all I ever heard was that it was the ‘nanny state’. Everyone shut up shop at 5pm and that was it. Until I discovered the local foodie culture and along with it a whole heap of food loving bloggers. From the first time I met each one of them, they embraced me with open arms, told me the best kept secrets about their beloved city and brought me out to their favourite places to show me what this city really had to offer. From meeting them randomly at the markets, picnics in King’s Park, going to supper clubs in their houses……from day one we connected and I will always appreciate the great memories I have of the them, most importantly the laughs because there were a lot of those! I won’t go mentioning everyone’s names, but you know who you are and you know how much you mean to me.

Dragging TomΓ‘s out of bed every Saturday morning to totter around the farmer’s markets with sleepy eyes was definitely worth it when we got to bring home bags full of local, seasonal produce along with fresh meats and dairy to stock our pantry with. After a two year stint in the Middle East, where farmers markets were unheard of in the desert, this was all I longed for. Week after week we would visit the market and soon struck up conversations with the stall owners; telling us about their new products, forming friendships over food.

Not to mention, the amount of Irish scally wags that I’ve met here in Perth. It is definitely the biggest community of Irish that I’ve seen abroad so far. I had the pleasure of training GAA with a great team of girls at the Southern Districts SDGFC. Spending sunny Sunday mornings with a gravy and chips watching the boys in shorts bring home the gold to long nights on the dance floor high kicking and Irish dancing our way around.

So now, a new chapter in our lives is about to begin. If you’re reading this at the time of posting, I am sitting in Perth International Airport, about to board my flight to South Africa. A place I have never been but have always wanted to go to. A whole new adventure begins for the both of us and I cannot wait. I have spent the last four weeks packing our lives into boxes and mentally preparing myself for the move. This will be our second time moving continents together, a pretty big deal when you’re 25.

When I got the phone call that we were moving to South Africa, I must admit I was scared. I was scared because I had become so comfortable in the life I had in Perth. I didn’t want to give it up that quickly. But, I slowly warmed to the idea and over the weeks, the excitement has most certainly been building. It overshadowed the anxiety and I’m ready to take it on.

I know when I look back in a few years time at the opportunities we have been given in a pretty hard time for most, I will feel an overwhelming sense of gratitude. Don’t get me wrong, I already do. Right now though I’m feeling overwhelmed, nervous, sad and excited.

So long Perth, you’ve been deadly!

8 thoughts on “So long…..

  1. While I’m sad we won’t get to meet in person in Perth I’m grateful for all the insight into the food circle in Perth. How exciting to be off on a new journey! Best wishes for a fab time in SA. Will be reading your adventures πŸ™‚

  2. Good luck in South Africa. I’ve just moved to my fourth country in four years so I can empathise with the highs and lows, but I’ve never regretted any of the places or moves in the end.

  3. All the very best for your South Africa move. It will be a huge change but that doesn’t mean it has to be hard πŸ™‚ SA’s know how to have a good time! I understand the nerves, having moved around a fair bit too, but that’s the great challenge. Enjoy it πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Caroline πŸ™‚ I have loved everything about the move to SA. It has been magical! I’ll always have a special place for Perth in my heart though, it’s such a fantastic place especially for the foodies x

Leave a Reply

