Pineapple Muffins

Pineapples

A recent trip to the Camdeboo Farm resulted in a purchase of some gorgeous looking fruit and veg. Particularly these two lovely mini pineapples. I could not resist the big box of pineapples on display. As our veg box was growing exceedingly over capapcity and with Tomás giving me the eye, I knew I could really only snaffle one or two of them. I just had to! We picked these up on Saturday and they were ripe then but today the flesh was so soft and juicy, I couldn’t wait to bake them.

I’m a big fan of pineapples for their enzyme packing punch of Bromelain.  Bromelain is known to help aid digestion. Bromelain also helps to break down proteins thus making it an excellent meat tenderizer…maybe that’s what I will do with my second pineapple! Also being a major source of vitamin C, you really can’t deny yourself one of nature’s top candies! I was even able to use the stalk from these mini pineapples as it was just as soft as the rest of the fruit and not harshly bitter either.

Pineapple Mania

The Coconut Flour I have been using here in South Africa is a little different to that of the ones I had used before in Perth. It is not as absorbent as I would like. I have used this recipe before with a different brand of Coconut flour and it has turned out a little more substantial. Nevertheless, they still taste gorgeous 🙂

I slightly injured my shoulder blade yesterday at training and so I decided to take a back seat or more like take a seat on the couch for the day 😉 I had planned on making these muffins yesterday but the weather was just too warm to put the oven on, but luckily it has cooled down quite a bit after an overnight rain storm and now grey clouds and cool breezes have descended upon the city. It’s also perfect baking weather but not perfect picture taking weather!

Pineapple Muffins

The pineapples caramelise just ever so slightly, leaving you with lovely sticky bits to nibble on.

Pineapple Muffins
Recipe adapted from Susan Jane Murray’s Blueberry Muffins

2/3 Cup Coconut Flour
1 tspn Baking Powder
½ tspn unrefined salt (I use Himalayan Crystal Salt)
½ tspn cinnamon

¼ cup melted butter (can’t beat Kerrygold for this)
2/3 cup Maple Syrup
2 extra large eggs
2 tspns vanilla extract
½ cup chopped fresh pineapple (use tinned if you can’t get your hands on fresh)

Preheat oven to 180°C
Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl
In a separate bowl, combine the melted butter, maple syrup, eggs and vanilla essence
Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix well.
Pop in your chopped pineapple and spoon into a lined muffin tray.
This mix makes about 8-10 small muffins, depending on how you like them.
Bake for 20 minutes and once out of the oven, place on a wire rack to cool immediately.

Pineapple Muffin

2 thoughts on “Pineapple Muffins

Leave a Reply

