The beginning of a new life….in food!

So it has been a pretty big year in Carolanne’s Kitchen. We started 2012 off on a great note with family in Ireland, then back to Perth in January and a surprise move to South Africa in October. Coming home for Christmas this year was a seriously anticipated trip. This was my longest time away from the nest and I have truly embraced every moment of being in Ireland this Christmas. Pints of stout by the fire, hugs from old and new friends, turkey and ham, curling up by the fire, wind and rain, Irish food. All of it, even the little things have made this a truly spectacular time of year for me.

Now I must let you in on a little secret, one that I have been keeping to myself this year. Last Christmas I decided that I would make a commitment to making a dream come true. A dream that as an avid Irish food lover I have longed to achieve. It wasn’t easy and many a time, I almost gave up. However, with my eyes on the prize, a fantastic boyfriend encouraging me all the way and an excited family getting ever more excited about the idea, I finally did it.

I began this blog in 2010 as a way of expressing my interest in food through a creative platform. Never did I imagine that it would bring me to become the obsessed food lover that I am today. It is to the blog I must give thanks for the many friends I made, the places I travelled and now my next port of call. The dream. Next Sunday evening I will be travelling to a a little village in Cork to begin a fabulous food journey in the Ballymaloe Cookery School. I will be a student of Darina Allen, Rory O’Connell, Rachel Allen and the many more talented Ballymaloe chefs for 12 weeks. I am extremely excited about it all and I can’t believe that the hard work of saving is actually coming into reality in less than a week. I’m not the best saver so I must say I am a little proud of myself.Β Even more exciting is that I will be in the company of like minded food enthusiasts and sharing, experimenting and creating ideas all based around a common interest.

If you are unfamiliar with Ballymaloe Cookery School, this video will give you a little insight into what they are all about

So with that, I wish all the very best for the year ahead, I hope you are all enjoying ringing in the New Year. I am fortunate to be celebrating with family and partners in Sligo with the wild winds outside.

Cx

14 thoughts on “The beginning of a new life….in food!

  1. Hi Carol-Anne,

    I am very jealous! I would say it will be an amazing experience. Hope you have a fantastic time. See you soon. xx

  2. Hi Carolanne Glad to hear you enjoying Ballymaloe – it’s on my dream list too! You’ve come along way from Babysitting Days!

Leave a Reply

