Gooey + Chewy Gluten Free Cookies

IMG_9666

We are in the thick of winter and the glorious sunshine is still beaming down on us. I can’t quite get over just how lucky I am to be experiencing such a beautiful time of the year here in South Africa. Joburg is shining and it’s looking pretty stunning.

Don’t get me wrong, the early mornings have been filled with that struggle to get out of bed knowing it is freezing outside but once I hit the field at Bootcamp, the frost melts and by 9am, it’s a scorcher. My classmates can’t get their heads around the fact that I arrive in a pair of football shorts and a t-shirt whilst most of them have donned a comfy looking 3 layers on both top and bottom. I’m so used to being in cold weather, my thick Irish skin is keeping me warm. We finished our June training today and I was ecstatic when our trainer gave us our results. I improved  my run time by a whopping 52 seconds. Really?? I honestly thought I couldn’t do it, but it’s all down to those gorgeous mornings I have spent in the company of some really enthusiastic women.

So all of this hard work and running really does need a treat at the end of it. A recipe for gluten free chewy and gooey cookies is just what is in order. I have made these cookies on several occasions and each time I have done so, they have just disappeared in seconds. I experimented with this gluten free recipe on my boyfriend’s co-workers and the cookie basket came back empty and full of good reports.

In South Africa, I use a gluten free flour mix that I buy from Fruits & Roots, it contains quinoa, rice, buckwheat and potato flours and Xanthum Gum. However, I love Doves Farm Gluten Free Flour(Rice, Potato, Tapioca, Maize & Buckwheat)  so if they are available to you, pick up a packet and get baking. I used Doves Farm quite a lot at culinary school and really loved the end result. Not chalky or flavourless but delicious and moreish. Some gluten free flours do requite extra liquid so if you feel the flour you’re using needs it, add in an extra egg.

I love the balance of the bitter 70% chocolate balanced with the sweetness of the sugars used. Also, Brazil Nuts have to be one of my favourite nuts. Since I was a kid, they were always such a treat but feel free to sub in your own favourite, I also love Macadamia nuts and Hazelnuts in cookies.

IMG_9678

Gooey and Chewy Gluten Free Cookie Recipe

Makes approx 18-20

40z butter
3.5 oz brown sugar
3oz castor sugar
1 free range egg
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
6oz gluten free flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of salt
3oz 70% chopped chocolate
2oz chopped brazil nuts

Preheat the oven to 180°C
Cream the butter and sugars together. Once light and fluffy, add in the egg a little at a time, then the vanilla extract.
Mix the dry ingredients together and fold them in. Lastly, add the chocolate chips and
the chopped nuts.
Divide the mixture into  25g (1oz) balls and place onto baking sheets. Allow lots of room for spreading. Bake for about 8-10 minutes, depending on size.
Cool for a few minutes on the tray and then transfer to wire racks.

IMG_9668

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

