Beer Bread For The Win!

Beer Bread Side

A couple of weeks ago I set up my very first food stall at the Blubird Wholefoods Market in Birnam. It’s been a pretty exciting time for me as it’s my way of introducing Irish fayre to the South Africa palatte. Whenever I talk about Irish food to non-Irish people, they more often than not refer back to us just eating PotAYtoes, with the diddly hoo har accent. So it’s my aim to show them no we don’t just eat spuds all day long.

Bread baking has long been a tradition in Ireland and the world over. Growing up in our house there was always without fail a loaf of soda, treacle or health loaf on the counter when we arrived home from school and now when we arrive home from our homes around the world. My mother can just tell that bread needs to be baked and as soon as the last slice is gobbled up, another one comes out of the oven. I’ve always loved bread baking but as soon as I attended Culinary School, I fell head over heels in love with the process.

Beer Bread and Butter

Since starting my food stall, I have been making soda breads and they just sell out in no time. People keep requesting more but there’s only so much my little oven can take. So. this weekend with more organisation and less focus on sweet treats I will be bringing a bigger variety of breads with me and this Beer Bread just jumped to the top of the baking tray.

I have just taken two loaves of Beer Bread out of the oven and so happy with the end result. I made a 1lb loaf and because I had to open two bottles of beer I made a mini bread round using half the quantities. This is destined for our friends dinner table so won’t go to waste!

Beer Bread Round

{Beer Bread}

1 Lb White Flour

1 tspn salt

1 tspn bicarbonate of soda/baking soda

1 tspn castor sugar

2 tspns fresh thyme

400ml Beer. I used a Double Malted Beer

{Method}

Preheat the oven to 190°C.

In a mixing bowl, add the flour, salt, bicarb, sugar and thyme. Aerate by lifting it through your fingers for a few seconds.

Crack open a bottle of your favourite brew and pour it in.

With your hand outstretched in a claw begin to mix the batter from the outside in until it comes together, not too long.

Scoop the mixture into a loaf tin or bake free standing on a floured baking tray.

{Optional} Brush with melted butter and top with a seed mix.

Pop into the oven for 45 minutes. Check at 30 minutes and either remove from the loaf tin to allow the sides to bake or flip it upside down to finish baking.

Lather with your favourite topping and eat!

It came out with a beautiful crunchy crust and with gorgeous mellow notes of the double malt. Delish!

IMG_9846

5 thoughts on “Beer Bread For The Win!

Leave a Reply

