Butternut Gnocchi

Butternut Gnocchi

There has been some serious procrastination going on here recently. I’ve assigned Tuesdays as my Admin day to sort out all of the un-fun stuff that comes along with running a food business. So yesterday (I changed Admin day to Thursday this week…procrastination part 1) I sat down armed with receipts, budgets and menu planners…that lasted all of about half a day. Put me in a hot kitchen and hand me a wooden spoon and I will gladly stay there all day and night, if you let me. I love the rush, the smells, the heat. It gives me a kick. Put me at a desk with paperwork and numbers and I soon lull off into day dream land thinking about what to have for lunch, what’s in the fridge, I should really use up all of the food….now.

Buttner Gnocci Rolling

So you can imagine how delighted I was with myself that this recipe came out of my ‘Procrastination Station’. It’s worth it in the end, really!

Using Butternut Squash in place of Potato yields a light and fluffy dough for the Gnocchi. When served with the butter sauce and herbs, it’s rich, moreish, salty, crispy and fluffy. Perfect lunchtime treat after all of that intense paper work!

Butternut Squash Roast

Butternut Squash Scraps

Butternut Gnocchi Cutting

{Recipe}

500g Butternut Squash Puree

1 egg yolk

75g Plain Flour

50g Semolina {plus more for rolling in}

80g Grated Parmesan

100g Butter

Large handful of chopped herbs {parsley, sage, chives, thyme, chervil etc…)

{Method}

Heat the oven to 200°C. Roast the butternut squash whole for 45-60 mins.

In a blender, puree the Butternut Squash and add the egg yolk.

Fold in the flour, semolina and parmesan.

Combine to form a soft dough.

Flour your work surface and roll out the dough. Cut into four. Roll eat quarter into a log and cut into 2cm pieces.

Roll the dumplings in your hand and indent with a fork to create lines in the dumpling.

Bring a large pot of salted water to the boil and add in the Gnocchi. Cook over a high heat for about 3-4 minutes until the Gnocchi rises to the surface. Remove with a slotted spoon and let rest on baking paper for a few minutes.

Heat a frying pan and melt the butter, add the Gnocchi dumplings and pan fry until golden. Sprinkle with chopped herbs.

Serve on warmed plates and sprinkle with Parmesan.

Butternut Gnocchi Bowl

10 thoughts on “Butternut Gnocchi

  1. Yum! I was eyeing off your photo on twitter earlier, being both a pumpkin and gnocchi lover, only to drop in to find that they are also pan fried and finished in butter. Bliss! Of course, I am now craving gnocchi right before I’m about to head to bed… I wonder if i’ll have gnocchi dreams? :p

Leave a Reply

