Bobotie

Bobotie Writing

Bobotie (Bobotjie) has been haunting my dreams for the last few weeks. I keep seeing it pop up on cafe menus and on cookery shows. I’ve been dying to make it at home but one thing was holding me back, the dairy and gluten in it meant I would have to resist the indulgence. I love to look for a way to create an alternative to goodies I’m lusting after.

Bobotie is a South African dish, with a base of spiced mince and veggies nestled under a cooling set savoury custard. To me, it sounded like the perfect comfort food and I probably didn’t pick the best day to bake this as it was so warm outside but I just needed to have it. Spring is certainly on it’s way to us. Smells of Jasmine are filling the air as I go for a run in the evening. So delightful, I’m very much looking forward to welcoming in the new Season this weekend. I digress…

The introduction of Bobotie to South African cuisine dates back centuries to when it was first brought to these shores and adapted by the Cape Malay Community. In this recipe, I’ve altered it a little bit so it is not a true Bobotie but my version of it. In place of bread, I have used Coconut Flour and instead of the creamy/milk topping I opted for Coconut Cream.

Bobotie Spoon

A couple of months ago, I had my suspicions confirmed that I was allergic to wheat, sob! I love to bake (and eat lots of!) bread, dreamy pasta bakes make me go weak on those lazy Sunday afternoons and buttery croissants send me over the edge on a late Saturday afternoon. So, eventually I had to bite the bullet and after a few weeks of settling back into South African life, I decided to take on the Whole30 Challenge. Basically, a 30 day nutritional reset based on the Paleo diet. This means no Dairy, Alcohol, Grains, Legumes or Processed Foods. I’m also staying off Caffeine. Sounds difficult, but it really is so enjoyable!

I had been on holidays for two weeks prior to starting the Whole30 so I was ready to grab the bull by the horns, so to speak! I’m now 12 days in and loving it, my skin is clearer, I’m sleeping better than ever, I never feel uncomfortable after a meal anymore and my savoury tooth has exploded in sheer delight. The beneficial side effect of the Whole30 is of course weight loss. When you adapt a new way of eating, especially one that focuses on consuming good fats (coconut oil, avocados, eggs, nuts) your body begins to change it’s way of burning fat. I no longer really on toast to keep me going through to lunch but will have leftovers from dinner, pulled pork frittatas or Avocados and Bacon sammies. My diet has also become over loaded with nutrient dense vegetables, and surprising how filling they can be. I no longer go to bed stuffed after an over-indulgent dinner but really satisfied and a happy tummy to boot!

Bobotie Side

Even if you don’t have any allergies to dairy or wheat, I would definitely suggest giving this recipe a go. It was so delish that we both went back for seconds. T loved it and has already requested that we have it again for dinner. Which is always a bonus because sometimes he is just not down with some of my quirky concoctions and I don’t blame him, haha!

{Recipe}

1 tbsn Ghee/Avocado Oil

2 mediun onions, chopped

3 Cloves Garlic, crushed

2 Medjool Dates, chopped

1 heaped tbspn Curry Powder {I use a mix of coriander, cumin, cinnamon, chili, turmeric}

500g Grass fed organic mince meat {feel free to use pork, lamb or mince}

1 apple, grated {keep the skin on}

1 teaspoon coconut flour {optional}

{Topping}

400ml Coconut Cream

3 organic eggs

Bay Leaves

Preheat the oven to 180°C {Fan 160°C}

In a frying pan and add the Ghee/Avocado Oil.

Add in the onion, garlic and dates and stir. Sweat for 5 minutes.

Sprinkle on the curry powder and stir to combine. Cook out the spices for 2 minutes.

Add the mince meat and cook for 10 minutes.

Stir through the grated apple and coconut flour.

Allow to cook for 10 minutes.

Pour the meat mixture into an oven dish and cool for a few minutes whilst you make the topping.

Whisk together the eggs and coconut cream and pour over the meat mixture, dot with Bay leaves and pop into the oven.

Bake for 35-40 minutes until the custard is set.

Dish up and serve with coriander, chutney and rice.

Bobotie Long

Do you have any food allergies? I would love to hear from you and what are you favourite dishes to recreate 🙂

2 thoughts on “Bobotie

  1. This looks delish CA, I am deffo going to try it soon. I don’t have any allergies but am trying to cut back on carbs currently in order to lose a few pounds so I have been filling up on veggies too.
    Thanks for posting this 🙂

Leave a Reply

