Exciting News!!

blog_awards_2013_badge_finalist-245x300

This week has been a pretty exciting one. Last night as I was curled up reading my book, I got a tweet from a fellow Sligo blogger congratulating me on making it to the finalists in the Irish Blog Awards. As many of you know, this year my blog was eligible for the ‘Best Blog of the Diaspora’ category. So I was naturally jumping up and down with pure excitement. It means a lot to be able to represent the Irish Diaspora on the blogging scene in this way as blogging, for me at least, is such an important part of communication with home.

I would like to thank those of you that nominated me for the Blog Awards and also to thank the team behind the awards. There is some serious work that goes into whittling down the lists to just 5/6 blogs per category from the thousands that had been entered.

 

My blog is largely focused on recipes and travel but I have noticed over the past year or so that my writing is hugely inspired by Ireland: the people, the places, the food, the weather! I am beyond grateful that the Blog Awards now has this category that I can be apart of. I love the fact that they have given a nod in the direction of all of us Irish living abroad. I began to use the #IrishLivingAbroad hasthtag on Twitter and Instagram last year as I believed it was important to include that little piece of information in my updates that were about homesickness, playing in the GAA abroad or baking Irish recipes.

I left Ireland 4 years ago this August (except for a small stint at Ballymaloe this year to cure my withdrawals) and to be honest it has it’s ups and downs, but I love it. I  enjoy experiencing new places and cultures and food, most importantly 😉 People outside of Ireland also love the Irish, I don’t know what it is about us, but they become drawn to us and our hearty laughter and welcoming smiles. At the Farmer’s Markets, they are curious about the Irish food I make and sell and then engage in some chat about trips to Ireland or relations they have. Everyone has an Irish aunty who makes the best Irish Soda Bread!! 

 

The second part of my exciting news is that last week as I was scrolling through Instagram, I noticed that Lilly Higgins had posted a picture of the arrival of her new book. Her second book at that! How exciting and then Lilly notified me that I got a little mention in her book. Even MORE exciting!! Last year whilst living in Perth, I posted a recipe for Peanut Butter Granola, seriously this stuff will make you weak, and Lilly so kindly asked could she include a recipe for it that she had devised inspired by the one on my blog. I was thrilled for her and for the Granola. Who doesn’t love golden toasted clusters of nutty oats?! Yum! So as I type, a copy of her new book, ‘Dream Deli’, is making it’s journey all the way from Ireland to South Africa so I can begin cooking up a storm. I already have Lilly’s first book: ‘Make, Bake, Love’ and I adore baking from it. Her Rhubarb Custard Cake was a firm favourite at the Perth Secret Cake Clubs.

Lilly Dream Deli

 

Dream Deli is on sale Oct 4th

Hope you all have a lovely week and thanks for reading x 

 

3 thoughts on “Exciting News!!

  1. Well done, Carolanne – delighted for you! Best of luck in the finals. Does this mean you’ll be making the trip home for the awards next week?!

Leave a Reply

