Banana Bread Pancakes

Banana Bread Title

An imperfectly delicious stack of homemade banana bread pancakes. Soft, pillowy, wholesome and filling. I usually fall asleep dreaming about my breakfast and last night was no different. After I received the amazing news about becoming a finalist in the Irish Blog Awards, I felt like a treat was in order. A healthy one no less!

When I sat down to eat breakfast this morning, I really felt like I was eating a cake. I almost regretted having not filled the layers with yoghurt and berries. Whist I was chomping my way through the stack, I thought they would work really well with puréed pumpkin/squash and some cinnamon as well.

I’m pretty lucky that the Mooberry Farm stall is right beside mine at the market. Gorgeous raw milk, raw milk cheeses, yoghurts and free range eggs. I picked up a stash of goodies and wanted to put them to good use this week. The yoghurt is gorgeous and the egg yolks so vibrant. They were the perfect ingredients for these pancakes.

I love pancakes and any chance I can, I treat myself to a stack of them. A total guilt free pleasure as there is no sugar used in these beauties. An optional final spoon of local raw honey is all I add and is just enough to lift the sweetness. There is oats in them however, so if you don’t eat oats, feel free to sub in some almond flour.

Banana Bread whole aerialBanana Bread side

{Banana Bread Pancakes Recipe}

Makes 5 pancakes or 10 small pancakes

60g {1/2 cup} Oats

125ml {1/2 cup} Homemade Almond Milk

1 ripe banana

1 free range egg

1 tbspn raw cacao

1 heaped tspn baking powder

In a food processor, blend the oats until they resemble light breadcrumbs.

Add in the banana, almond milk and egg and blend on high until a smooth batter forms.

Lastly fold in the cacao powder and baking powder, combine thoroughly.

Heat a frying pan with some coconut oil and spoon in ladles of the batter.

As it begins to bubble, flip over and finish cooking on the other side.

Plate up with some local natural yoghurt, raw honey and berries.

Banana Bread aerial sliceBanana Bread Sliced

4 thoughts on “Banana Bread Pancakes

Leave a Reply

