Happy Birthday Mum!

Fig Sponge WholeI have a habit of celebrating other people’s birthdays when we’re not even in the same country together. My father has still never forgiven me for the shindig myself and my mother threw for him on a holiday in Spain a few years ago, dad was back at home in Ireland. Poor fella! We had a feast and finished off with his favourite Bread and Butter Pudding and lots of dancing. This time though, I’m celebrating my mum’s birthday. Happy Birthday Mum, I miss you every day that I’m not at home and wish I could give you a hug and share this cake with you.

One of the hardest things about living away from home is missing out on birthdays, celebrations and most of all hugs. My family give the best hugs. Fact! I miss coming down to the kitchen in the morning and seeing my mum, the early bird, with a cup of tea on the table and a big smile. She’s always so chirpy and keeps us all beaming. She’s the person I go to when I feel I need to be grounded. When I’m feeling like I’ve gone off course, she pulls me back in with her kind and gentle way of talking things through with me. Of course, my dad is always in the background whispering his two cents as well 😉

So this cake is for you mum, it’s gorgeous and I know you would love it! I’d give anything to put the kettle on and cut you a slice, sit down at the kitchen table together and chat.

Fig Sponge

I love this sponge because it is so light and airy. The ratio is so simple as well 6:6:6. 6 eggs, 6 oz sugar, 6oz flour.

{Whisked Sponge Recipe}

6 free range eggs

6oz {175g} castor sugar

6oz {175g} spelt flour, sieved

Melted butter for greasing

Preheat oven to 190 °C

Grease two 8″ cake tins with melted butter and a dusting of flour. Place a round of baking paper on the bottom of the cake tin and brush more melted butter on. I like to brush melted butter upwards on the sides of the cake tin, to encourage rising 😉

Whisk the eggs and sugar together for about 8-10 minutes, until you reach the ribbon stage: where you can draw a figure of 8 in the mixture. it should be really light and fluffy.

Carefully fold in the flour using a spatula or wooden spoon. Making sure not to knock out all of that air you just whisked in there.

Divide the mixture between the two cake tins.

Place in the oven and bake for 18 minutes, until the sides of the cake come away from the edge of the tin and a skewer comes out clean.

Cool on a wire rack.

{Thyme Roasted Figs}

Roasted Figs

7-8 fresh figs

1 tablespoon rose syrup

5/6 thyme sprigs

zest of 1/2 lemon

Preheat oven to 200 °C

Place 7-8 fresh figs, cut into quarters in a roasting tray, cover in rose syrup, thyme leaves and lemon zest.

Place in the oven and roast for 30 minutes.

Remove and leave aside to cool.

{Mascarpone}

250g Mascarpone

1oz {25g} icing sugar

Whisk the mascarpone to loosen it up and add in the sieved icing sugar.

 

{To Assemble}

Place a sponge on your cake plate.

Cover in half of the mascarpone and half of the figs and syrup.

Top with the second sponge, the remainder of the figs and syrup.

Fig Sponge Aerial

Fig Sponge Slice

Leave a Reply

